Depressing TV…old people, drug addicts, dead husbands

May 13, 2008 at 1:44 am 4 comments

I love watching sad and/or depressing stuff on TV. It started with a COPS obsession a few years ago. Anytime I heard that stupid theme song, “Bad boys, bad boys…” I knew I was in for a good 30 minutes of watching people with screwed up lives. I really don’t understand my facination, but usually when the remote is in my hand I gravitate to the real life murder mysteries, addiction documentaries or touching shows about old people.

My latest guilty pleasure is Intervention on A&E. The dramatic program follows around people with various addictions – heroin addicts, anorexics, meth heads and my personal favorite…shopaholics. I love the idea of the show, they try to help the addicts by sending them to some nice sounding rehab place in Arizona or on the beach somewhere. Take tonight’s episode with Emily the anorexic twin who obsessively exercises and thinks that her skeletal frame looks fat. Her family steps in and helps her out and she gets better.

Last weekend I stumbled upon another tear-jerking documentary. Hear and Now the “deeply personal memoir” on HBO tells the story of a couple in their 60s who have been deaf since birth and they decide to undergo a new medical procedure that will allow them to finally hear. Their emotional journey of hearing music for the first time or the sound of snow crunching below their feet was great. This doc had two of my favorite elements for depressing TV – old people and medical conditions. It’s the perfect recipe.

Last night I popped in my latest Netflix order, P.S. I Love You. I think I was only five minutes into this bad boy before the tears started to flow. Another favorite recipe for sappy sad viewing – dead spouses. This movie focused on a dead Irish husband and his lovely wife. I get a little misty-eyed just thinking about it.

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

May showers… The Thrill of the Hunt

4 Comments Add your own

  • […] Bring it on. Blue-haired dress makers who talk in third person? I’m there.   As with my afore mentioned love of depressing TV, I too am facinated with fashion TV. And maybe the two subgenres of reality TV aren’t that […]

    Reply
  • 2. ishku  |  November 9, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    Same thing for me. As soon as we hit the bar and saw everyone dressed in black, there came the waterworks. And there they stayed.

    I really liked the comedy in it. When Holly and her friends just arrived in Ireland and she got sad ’cause she didn’t get a letter and her friends did.

    “Well.. maybe he didn’t love you as much.”

    It was really just the right amount of sadness in humor that resulted in me running around with puffy eyes all day and a headache in the evening.

    Didn’t feel like that since The Notebook.

    Reply
  • 3. mody  |  December 13, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    amaaaaaaaaaaaaazing movie

    i couldn’t help myself to stop crying

    Reply
  • […] 12, 2009 So I wrote about my affection for depressing television shows and/or movies awhile back. And, needless to say I’m still drawn to downright dreary programing. I’m […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Blog Stats

  • 12,413 hits

